It’s not every day that you can start a name for yourself by following your passion and doing what you love. Most people aren’t even game enough to try.  Then there are others who can’t stand to do anything but. They forgo a “normal” job to work odd hours in retail or hospitality, sometimes both, so that they can spend the most inspiring hours of their day creating and living. Living to create, with a desire to create for a living.

This is an interview with a girl who is doing just that. Not long ago she posted a heartfelt Facebook post outlining the reality of getting social media fame for her work, that detracted from what it really is; work. A lot of it. Most of the time without much payback, besides the online gratification you get when someone spares a moment to write a comment, as well as a like, to show their appreciation of a post that is the culmination of many hours offline.

This is what it is like for most creatives. So what keeps them going? We spoke to Bianca Beers, a name that is being forged despite the hardships as her drawings grab the attention of famous actors and musicians across the globe, who at the end day were just another artist with a pipe dream.

selfie Bianca

“Selfie”

Full Name: Bianca Esber

Hometown: Blacktown, Aus

Current location: Sydney, Aus

Tell us more about your alias ‘Bianca Beers’: I’ve always wanted a name that alliterates, and ‘beers’ just happens to be an anagram of ‘esber’ haha. I don’t actually like beer.

How did your solo “business” come together? Slowly but surely, haha. I knew I never wanted to work in a typical office, so I had to do something. Art was something I always enjoyed as a kid, so only a year ago I got an ABN and started from there, mainly picking up commission jobs through my art posts social media.

What inspires you? Colours, textures, music, positive people… Anything fun or creative can spark me in one way or another!

My motto is: Be yourself (or “bee yourself” as its spelt on my ankles haha)

My biggest influences: That’s such a wide question… In terms of art, I’m not really influenced directly by anyone, but rather inspired. My one big influence, if we’re talking about people, would be Carl Sagan. He has opened my eyes to the importance of a lot of things, and made me want to use my art as a platform for making real and meaningful changes in the world. His philosophy of appreciating every one and everything has rubbed off on me, and I guess it helps me to bring out the character in things when I draw.

Best moment in my career to date: A lot of my work is posted on Instagram (@biancabeers), so that is where most of my work and opportunities come from. A major proud-moment was earlier this year, when Natalie Emmanuel (my Hollywood crush, who plays Missandei in Game of Thrones) starting following my account… I was so excited that I started shaking! If she ever comes to Aus, she has a couch to sleep on hahaha.

Art is: Whatever you want it to be, however you feel.

If you could make an ‘impossible’ life goal and then achieve it, what would it be? Such a pipe dream haha, but world peace. Or at least major reductions in government costs on warfare (worldwide). Think of what we could do with all that money! Clean energy, food and water for everyone, more money for the arts and sciences…

What is the haps for Bianca Beers right now? I just finished building my website (biancabeers.com)  and online shop (society6.com.biancabeers), so from here on in I’m just continuing with commissions and collaborations, building my network and hoping to start up a few platforms and campaigns in the next few months to start making a bit of a difference. I’m all for equality and environmentalism so something along those lines….

What should people pay more attention to? Equality for all, being kind to one another, and realising the beauty in everything.

Official INSTA

Official WEBSITE

Society6 SHOP

  Official FACEBOOK

4 comments

Leave a Reply

