At whatisthehaps we are always on the hunt for new music and as the weather gets chillier and staying at home gets more appealing, we have found you the perfect accompaniment to a day in bed pondering life’s mysteries.

A Pleasant Stutter is the latest creation from Fieldings, a Sydney producer/singer who explores the hypnotic and sublime capabilities of music that speak through repetitive sounds beneath a shifting melody – a concept that in many ways mimics the mundane yet dynamic nature of our lives as relationship-driven human beings.

Intrigued by this, we wanted to know more and so we got to know the woman behind these sounds created in her home studio in Dulwich Hill…

Full name: My name is Lucinda Jane Hearn. Pretty standard on all fronts. A good friend of mine got to choose his own middle name and he chose  ‘Kangaroo Jock Boomboom’. That’s a much better story, right?

Hometown: Born in Brisbane.

Current location: Right now I am in my little home studio in Dulwich Hill.

What is the story behind the name ‘Fieldings’?
The real true story is that a while ago a pretty lousy boss I had thought my surname was Hearnfield, which is just dumb and nothing much more than dumb, but I liked the sound of it, so I changed my name on Facebook. Two years later, I’m naming this musical thing I am doing and wanting it to sound surname-ish and Hearnfield is (like I said) just dumb so I settled on Fieldings. Then it turned out to have all these other neat little connections. For instance, Henry Fielding was the founder of London’s first police force, called the Bow Street Runners, for which I named other spy club I formed at age 10.

We read that you are concerned with small movements and patterns, the moments where the mundane becomes sublime. Tell us more.

In the most literal sense I’m just talking about the way I write music. I’ve been interested in repetition for a while – particular simple repeated musical phrases sitting underneath shifting, more nuanced melody. It can be hypnotic. A sound seems like one thing, then becomes another. An analog to this is, I guess, how it feels to slip in and out of the anaesthetic monotony of, say, 9 – 5 work and suddenly remember how very very excruciatingly big life is. I like this idea. Small things become large. Large things become small.

What is your inspiration behind ‘A Pleasant Stutter’? What do you think happens when boyfriends and girlfriends are alone? 
Sex. Sex sex sex. But more specifically, the jealously that comes with new intimacy. The affairs I’ve watched friends have – the intoxication of that, for them and for me. And what do girlfriends and boyfriends do when they’re alone? I truly don’t know. Make pasta? Hate watch Scandal together? Think about fucking other people but then fuck each other? There’s a wide range of available activities.
Fieldings sounds like:  Pastoral synth accidents.
My motto is: “Don’t tread on me.” 
My biggest influences:  My morning commute, weird shit I see on Tumblr, the Brooklyn-based band Zula,  Frank O’Hara (the poem ‘Having A Coke With You’ devastates me), YouTube worm holes.
Best moment in my musical career to date:  Opening for Mark Kozelek then watching him hit on every woman.
Music is: I googled ‘music is + glamour shot’ and this is what I got ..
fieldings image1
What is the haps for Fieldings right now? 
Finishing my debut album … curating a weird pop/electro showcase called Strange Cuts … other fun shows I’m not allowed to talk about yet … getting ready to spend some time in New York for a little while. A large year awaits, and I couldn’t be more thrilled.
2 comments

Leave a Reply

